Two first-person accounts about stroke

Multiple Angioma Brain Coronal with Pons

I finished My Stroke of Insight by Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor a few weeks ago. I found her writing of her experience of the stroke itself very interesting and enlightening. I just finished Don’t Leave Me This Way by Julia Fox Garrison today, and I found her writing of her life post-stroke (including rehab, interactions with MD’s, PT’s, OT’s, the general community, etc) educational for me, not just in working with people who have experienced a stroke but I think it really expands into how we treat/ work with all patients – it is a window into what her life is like 24/7, not just during the 45-60 minutes the therapist is with her.  At my current internship I’ve had the opportunity to work with several patients who have had a stroke – I think these books have helped me relate to them or understand what they are going through better.

Picture credit: Multiple Angioma Brain Coronal with Pons, originally uploaded by gliageek.

Leave a Reply

