An exercise app for older adults

I love how the use of technology in the clinic and in everyday life can help patients.  I came across Motivating and assisting physical exercise in independently living older adults: a pilot study on Pubmed (no direct access to the study at the moment), but I found it interesting so I went to the app store and downloaded it (Active Lifestyle by Torino University).  Unfortunately it crashed on me twice when I tried it out tonight, but the concept and adherence rates intrigued me and I hope it continues to develop.  I’ll try it again at some future point when they fix the bug (maybe it is an IOS 7 issue?).  I’ll be curious to see a larger sample size in a future study, especially including a larger group of those who are or have a history of being more sedentary.

 

Leave a Reply

