Listening, and being active in the trenches

I came across several recent thought provoking things on the web and thought I would share for clinical reflection. First, while her comments are more directed toward doctors, Dr. Wen brings up some good ideas in low tech health revolution. Listening is incredibly important in PT, not just in the subjective portion of the evaluation but also throughout the course of treatment. Could we do far more good with less cost and time if we listened more?

The second is non-medical, at least at first read. I’m an amateur photographer when I have time, and I follow a couple of photographers on Twitter and/ or via their blogs. David DuChemin has a great post about lucky shots. “Luck may be the context for a great photograph, but it’s rarely, if ever, made by a photographer who hasn’t put in the time, learned her craft, or made thousands of less-than-lucky shots in order to pave the way for the one. God help the photographer who relies on luck without honing the skill – and time – required to seize the moment when she shows up.” How true is that of PT? We learn the basics in PT school, and we can go out and sit in the trenches and we can make it. But I think it is important for me as a PT to be active in the trenches – to hone skills, focus on and critically think of what I am doing, and be actively engaged with my patient, my community, and my profession.

Here is to listening, and to being active in our profession.

Leave a Reply

