Sometimes the best teachers are where you least expect

I am clinical faculty for a local PT program for their ICE (Integrated Clinical Education).  During the a student evaluation last month, one of my students recommended that I involve the patient during my instruction and education to students as she felt the patient (who is to be the center of what we do) is left out on the periphery.  Wow.  Best feedback I’ve received thus far.  I came up with an idea how to implement it for next year.

I’m also a CI this summer with a 2:1 model for first-year students.  As I was asking a student what he observed about a patient transfer, explaining what I saw, and working on ideas of what we could do, the patient said “hey, I’m right here – talk to me!”  Ouch.  So now I’m prefacing my interactions with students to the patient saying I’ll be talking PT jargon to the students, but they will be explaining it back to you in non-technical terms.  In doing this a) we are involving the patient (and they know what is going on) and b) the students get to practice patient-friendly language (if you ever get stuck try the rubber ducky idea).

I love being a physio and a teacher, and also a student.  While I do miss academia, you can learn anywhere if you are open to it, and bettering yourself and others in the process.

 

Leave a Reply

