Motivational Interviewing

I’m presenting a CEU with a colleague and the director of the residency program tomorrow on balance and falls.  Part of my portion is on adherence to fall risk recommendations – I can’t go in depth in this CEU as I have at other times (when the topic was specifically adherence), and it has been a while since I’ve really dug into the literature on adherence in general other than monitoring it via PubMed’s weekly update email.  One of the adherence models used is the Transtheoretical Model (stages of change), which uses Motivational Interviewing, or MI.  In refreshing my memory, I found two good videos on this that I’ll post here.  Watching them reminded me how I found the TTM and MI intriguing, and that I’d like to take a class on it to get better.

Leave a Reply

